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column if used as Barrage. Additionally, resolution of 75Smm HE uses the 14FP
“incremental” column, but its HEAT HE Equivalency (C8.31) would be resolved
on the 8FP “standard” column.

7372 FIREPOWER MODIFIERS: Doubling, halving and such of FP
(e.g., PBF, Area Fire, etc.) is based upon the actual FP (both before and
after increasing/decreasing it), regardless of whether the columns are
“standard” or “incremental” [EXC: Residual FP (8.2) uses the highest-
FP counter that is </, the FP used in the attack]. DRM are applied nor-
mally, regardless of column.

EX: A 5FP attack is resolved on the 10FP column if using PBF, or on the 2!/, FP
column if firing at Long Range; in the first case it would leave 4 Residual FP, in
the second it would leave 1 Residual FP.

An HE Concentration of 105mm OBA is resolved on the 21FP column, or on the
10FP column (', X 21 = 10[FRD]) if resolved vs Marsh (B16.31). A Barrage of
105mm OBA would be resolved on the 16FP “standard” column or on the 8FP
column vs Marsh. Harassing Fire 105mm OBA is resolved on the 7FP column ('/3
X 21 =7) or on the 3'/, FP column vs Marsh. A CH with 105mm OBA (whether
HE Concentration, Barrage, or Harassing Fire) would involve 42FP (C3.75) and
would be resolved on the 36FP column with no modifiers (since 42FP is not a
whole multiple of 8FP in excess of 36 [C.7]), or on the 21FP column vs Marsh.

74 TARGET DETERMINATION: Except during Defensive First Fire
(8.1), all the Personnel-units/unarmored-vehicles/Vulnerable-PRC in the
same Location are considered targets of fire that does not have to specify
a particular target, with the outcome of such fire affecting all those
enemy (or Melee) units in the target Location (except those to which the
LOF is blocked, such as being entrenched behind a wall [B9.21], Area
Target Type [C3.33], or non-Crest units in a Depression [B20.92]). Al-
though all targets are affected by the results of such fire combat, some
may escape harm entirely while others are eliminated, broken, pinned, or
affected by Heat of Battle (15.). A MC/PTC result requires all target
units to take an independent MC/TC with a separate DR for each unit. A
unit/weapon may purposely attack a friendly unit(s) only if specifically
allowed to by the rules governing a particular circumstance (e.g., Prison-
ers, Melee, OBA); see C3.33 for Area Target Type.

75 FIRE GROUP (FG): Two or more units/weapons joining together to
make a combined fire attack are a FG. Two SMC manning the same SW are
not a FG as they are considered one combined firing unit. A FG may consist
of units from more than one Location only if each participating unit occupies
a Location ADJACENT to another participating unit of the same FG. It is
possible to have a FG composed of a virtually unlimited string of ADJA-
CENT Locations; provided each Location in the FG contains a Personnel unit
that is participating in the attack. A leader alone in a Location cannot be a link
in a FG (unless he is Heroic or firing a SW) because each Location of a FG
must participate in the attack and a leader normally has no attack capability.
Units inside a pillbox may not form a FG with units outside the pillbox.

751 VEHICLES/ORDNANCE: Vehicles/Passengers/Riders may be
part of a FG within certain restrictions; see D6.64. Vehicles in Bypass in
the same hex without a LOS to each other may not form a FG. Ord-
nance-weapons/Canister/IFE may not form a FG with any other
unit/weapon, including other weapons of the same unit [EXC: vehicular
MGI/IFE; D3.5]; e.g., a tank may not combine its ordnance MA and MG
armament into a single attack.

752 All members of a FG must be able to trace a LOS to the target. Should
the LOS of any FG member be subject to a Hindrance/TEM
(/Cowering/CX penalty), the worst possible case applies to all members of
the FG (A.S). For this reason, it is often wise to break up such a FG and
have its component parts attack separately. A multi-Location FG which dis-
covers that one or more of its units’ LOS is blocked forfeits the participation
of only those units whose LOS was blocked. The FG’s other units with a
valid LOS must still attack the same target (unless it was eliminated by a
previous attack, in which case their attack is forfeit and they are marked
with an appropriate fire phase counter) after resolving the blocked firer’s
DR (6.11), but as a smaller FG or as separate attacks.

© 2000 Multi-Man Publishing, LLC

7.7

753 FIRE DIRECTION: A single leader cannot direct more than one
weapon/unit per phase unless they are part of the same FG. Hence a squad
that elects to use its inherent FP in a different attack than that of the MG it
is manning does not get the leadership benefit if given to the MG instead.
However, a leader can direct the fire of a MG as many times as the MG
can fire, even if he also directed other units as part of a FG in the MG’s
previous attack. Leader direction used during Defensive First Fire can be
used again in Subsequent First Fire, FPF, or Final Fire, but again only for
one firing unit/SW or FG—and that unit/SW/FG can only include firers he
directed during First Fire; if forming a new FG or using a different SW
during that Player Turn, the leader cannot direct its fire (even during FPF).
Similarly, a leader may not affect more than one To Hit attempt per fire
phase (except for a multiple ROF weapon) regardless of the number of
SW the firing unit is eligible to fire. See also 9.4, 10.7, and D6.65.

7531 A leader may use his leadership DRM (10.7) to modify the IFT DR
of any one attacking unit or FG per Player Turn, provided all firing units
of the FG are in the same Location. A leadership DRM may be employed
with a multihex/Location FG only if a leader directing that attack is pre-
sent in every Location; the leadership DRM in effect is that of the lowest-
quality participating leader. A Leader affects the To Hit DR of an ord-
nance SW —not the effects of those hits on the IFT or AFV To Kill Table,
nor the chance of a weapon malfunction. A Leader directing fire is treated
as if he were firing.

754 BERSERK: A berserk unit may never be part of a multi-Location FG.

7.55 MANDATORY FG: If Good Order units/weapons in the same Lo-
cation are going to fire at the same target (i.e., at both the same Location
and the same unit and the same “simultaneous” [8.1] MF/MP expendi-
ture; see D3.5) during the same phase they must form a FG [EXC: Fire
Lane; 9.22]; they may not attack separately except with ordnance/FT/DC
or the subsequent shots of multiple ROF weapons (9.2).

7.6 TEM & LOS HINDRANCES: The terrain of the target hex/Loca-
tion often alters the effectiveness of Fire Attacks by adding a DRM to the
IFT DR. The DRM applicable to each terrain type is listed on the TEM
column of the Terrain Chart and in the applicable rule section. TEM are
generally cumulative, although there are many exceptions. Any LOS
Hindrance (6.7) between the target and firer also lessens the effectiveness
of Fire attacks by adding a Hindrance DRM to the IFT DR.

7.7 ENCIRCLEMENT: Any non-Aerial Infantry, or Vulnerable PRC of an
Immobile vehicle, fired upon consecutively during the same PFPh, DFPh (not
MPh), or AFPh by two or more non-Aerial units using their inherent-
FP/SW/ordnance at < Normal Range (1.22, 10.532) is subject to possible En-
circlement [EXC: pillbox; B30.32]. The attack(s) constituting an Encirclement
must be resolved consecutively; if a player fires at a different target in the in-
terim, he cannot use previous attacks as the basis for his claim to Encir-
clement. Encirclement occurs if the firer’s LOS enters the target Location ei-
ther: a) through opposite hexspines; b) with exactly three target-hex vertices
between them in both clockwise and counter clockwise directions; or c)
through any three non-contiguous hexsides. An Encirclement can also be cre-
ated by a LOF from both the Location directly above and below it in a build-
ing hex. To be considered valid fire, ordnance weapons must secure a hit on
the target, and other firers must exert enough FP (taking the possibility of
Cowering into account) to possibly inflict at least a NMC result on the target.
A qualifying target Location is thereafter marked with an Encirclement
counter and every non-berserk, non-heroic enemy/Melee Personnel unit there-
in suffers an immediate one level drop in morale to both the attack that sealed
its Encirclement and any other attacks made against that Location as long as it
is so marked. All fire by an Encircled unit is subject to a +1 DRM on the IFT
(or To Hit DR if ordnance). The MF cost of the first Location entered (regard-
less of phase) by an Encircled unit is doubled (after all modification). Should
other enemy units enter an Encirclement Location they are immediately En-
circled. Regardless of the Encircler’s subsequent actions, the Encircled counter
remains on the Location to affect all enemy/Melee Infantry units, and Vulner-
able PRC of an Immobile vehicle, in that Location until they all leave the Lo-
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cation (even if they all leave it only momentarily), become berserk/heroic, are
eliminated, or are captured. Being Encircled has adverse effects on a unit’s
ability to avoid capture (20.21). A unit Encircled more than once does not suf-
fer additional penalties for multiple Encirclement.

EX: Encircled Not Encircled

O OO

7.71 FG: The LOS of a FG may penetrate the target Location through
more than one hexside; all such hexsides crossed count toward possible
Encirclement. It is even possible for a single FG to cause Encirclement.

7.72 UPPER LEVELS: Encirclement also applies to any non-
heroic/non-berserk unit in an upper level building Location that cannot
trace a path free of an unbroken, armed, unconcealed enemy unit/Blaze
to ground level through (or past, if Scaling; B23.424) Locations it could
legally traverse if so inclined. This type of Encirclement is broken the in-
stant such a path can be traced.

O

EX: If a unit in U2 fires on T3, T3 can be Encircled if the next attack(s) in that
phase is from S5 (along the S4-T4 hexspine of T3), or through both the S4-T3
and T4-T3 hexsides. A four-hex FG in 3T3-U4-U5-T5 firing on T4 with enough
FP to cause a MC or better result on an Original 2 DR automatically Encircles it.

7.8 PIN: Pinning (7.305) also occurs whenever any
PIN 0 ;'r‘,%:c unit is attacked resulting in an IFT MC that is passed
No Adv mihee | by rolling the highest DR possible that still results in
a passed MC. Cavalry, vehicles, units in Water Ob-
stacles, and units that are berserk, Heroic, Aerial, or Climbing are not sub-
ject to pinning [EXC: a Minimum Move (4.134) pins berserk/heroic Infan-
try, as might a PF check (C13.31); see G5.5 for Collapsed huts]. A unit is
also pinned if it fails a PAATC (11.6; 12.41). Pinning affects broken units
only during Interdiction (10.53), and even then only during the RtPh, so
there is no need to place Pin counters on broken units. A pinned unit has its
inherent FP halved for the remainder of that Player Turn (in addition to any
other halving of its FP for other reasons) and may not move/advance far-
ther during that Player Turn (although it may rout if later broken, even vol-
untarily). Place a Pin counter on top of the affected unit. The halved FP of
a pinned unit in CC applies only to its attack, not to its defense. Pin effects
are not cumulative; a unit suffering multiple Pin results has its FP halved
only once, so an already-pinned unit does not take a NTC due to a “PTC”
result on the IFT. Remove all Pin counters at the end of the current Player
Tum or if the unit subsequently breaks/goes-berserk/Battle-Hardens/be-
comes-heroic (whichever comes first).

7.81 INFANTRY EFFECTS: Pinned Infantry fires MG/IFE/Canister as
Area Fire, must add +2 to its To Hit DR (To Hit Case D), and cannot at-
tack with a FI/MOL/DC, declare a Firelane, change a weapon’s CA
(921; C5.1-.12), or use Intensive Fire or a Multiple ROF (although it
may use Subsequent First Fire/FPF; 8.3-.31).
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7.82 VEHICLE/CREW: A Pin result vs the CE Inherent crew of a CT
AFV forces it to remain BU during that Player Turn, thus subjecting it to
the Case I (BU) To Hit DRM. The Inherent crew of an OT AFV remains
CE vs a Pin result, but during that Player Turn is subject to the Case D
To Hit DRM and the halving of all MG/IFE/FT/Canister FP, as well as
prohibiting it from using Intensive Fire and Multiple ROF. An Inherent
crew that suffers a Pin result when attacked through an unarmored Target
Facing (even if only hull or turret/upper superstructure) is subject to the
same penalties as that of an OT AFV. A vehicle itself can never be
pinned, nor can its Inherent crew; however, leave the Pin counter on the
vehicle to show that the above penalties apply.

7.821 PASSENGERS/RIDERS: Pinned Passengers must BU if CE and
are considered Pinned for all purposes, although they may continue to be
transported by their vehicle and may even unload (D6.5) at their option,
but then become pinned in the dismount Location. Pinned AFV Riders
must Bail Out (D6.24).

7.83 MOVEMENT/ADVANCE: Pinned Infantry is not subject to any
further DRM for FEFNAM/FFMO during that Player Turn. However, if a
pinned unit is subsequently broken during Defensive First Fire, it loses
its pinned status and is subject to FFENAM/FFMO DRM (if applicable)
for further Defensive First Fire attacks against it in its MPh (keeping in
mind that a broken unit’s MPh ends as soon as another unit moves''). A
pinned unit /EXC: PRC] is considered a non-moving unit for purposes
of all subsequent ordnance To Hit attempts during that Player Turn. A
unit that is pinned while moving through an entrenchment Location with-
out actually having paid the one MF necessary to enter that entrenchment
is not considered in it, and cannot enter it while pinned.

EX: A squad uses Non-Assault Movement to enter an Open Ground hex and is at-
tacked by Defensive First Fire with a -2 FFMO/FFNAM DRM, resulting in it
being pinned. Another defending unit now First Fires on it but without the -2
DRM because the unit is pinned. However, this attack breaks the squad and re-
moves its pinned status. If another unit First Fires on it in its present MPh it will
again be subject to the -2 DRM. However, as soon as another unit is moved, the
broken unit’s MPh is over and it is no longer subject to FFMO/FFNAM DRM.

7.831 LEADERS: A moving leader who becomes pinned does not force
any Infantry in the same moving stack to take a LLTC, but does cancel
the two MF (if not already used; see 4.12) and/or portage (4.42) bonus
that it might otherwise have given to other Infantry in the same moving
stack. A pinned leader can neither direct an attack nor use Voluntary
Rout (10.711; although it may still voluntarily break [10.41] to rout)—
nor can a pinned leader aid other units’ MC/TC (including the use of a
Commissar’s increased Morale Level; 25.221).

79 COWERING: IFT attacks are adversely affected by any IFT resolu-
tion DR that results in Original “Doubles” unless a leader directs that at-
tack. The penalty for rolling Doubles without leadership direction is that
the attack is resolved on the next lower column of the IFT. An attack on
the lowest column which cowers is reduced to no effect at all, although a
malfunction result can still occur. In addition, any unit that cowers (as
well as all of its SW regardless of whether it was using its inherent FP) is
automatically marked with a Final or Prep Fire counter as appropriate.
Cowering affects all fire except that from a SMC, berserk or Fanatic unit,
Fire Lane, IFE, Canister, Aircraft, British Elite and First Line units,
Finns, Sniper, ordnance, OBA, or any form of vehicular fire. Cowering
FP penalties are doubled (i.e., resolved rmwo columns lower on the IFT)
for an attack by Inexperienced (19.33) Personnel (even in conjunction
with other troops). Cowering does not affect CC or DC resolution (in-
cluding Reaction Fire; D7.2). If a FG cowers, Random Selection is used
to determine the unit(s) (and its SW) that becomes marked with a Prep or
Final Fire counter.
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